Text size
S
M
L

Home> Announcements> International topics> Seminars and Symposia>JPO SEP Symposium 2022 - Latest Global Trends and the Frontier of Discussion -

Main content starts here.

JPO SEP Symposium 2022
- Latest Global Trends and the Frontier of Discussion -

Outline of Symposium

Outline In recent years, Standard Essential Patents (SEPs) are more actively debated due to the accumulation of court decisions and the trends in efforts by the government in each country. Therefore, the Japan Patent Office (JPO) will hold the symposium to introduce the latest trends of SEPs.
In the presentation of the symposium, the latest trends in each region will be illustrated by the Experts in Japan, the US and Europe. Also, while the JPO is now preparing to revise the “Guide to Licensing Negotiations Involving Standard Essential Patents”, which was published in 2018, the issues in licensing negotiations related to the revision are to be discussed in the panel discussion of the symposium.
Date and Time Thursday, May 19, 2022
  • from 6:00 am to 9:00 am (Eastern Daylight Time: EDT)
  • from 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm (Central European Summer Time: CEST)
  • from 7:00 pm to 10:00 pm (Japan Standard Time: JST)
Format of symposium Online (simultaneously delivered on the Internet)
* Simultaneous Japanese/English interpretation will be provided.
Organizers Host: Japan Patent Office (JPO)

Program

Program(PDF:336KB)

6:00 am to 7:00 am (EDT)
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm (CEST)
7:00 pm to 8:00 pm (JST)

Presentation

7:00 am to 8:00 am (EDT)
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm (CEST)
8:00 pm to 9:00 pm (JST)

Panel Discussion 1
“Licensing practice and the effect of recent court decisions”

  • Panelists
    • Evelina KURGONITE (Fair Standard Alliance)
    • Kenichi NAGASAWA (Canon)
    • Koran LEE (ScienBiziP Japan)
    • Masabumi SUZUKI (Professor, Nagoya University)
    • Matteo SABATTINI (Ericsson)
  • Moderator
    • Yoshiyuki TAMURA (Professor, University of Tokyo)
8:00 am to 9:00 am (EDT)
2:00 pm to 3:00 pm (CEST)
9:00 pm to 10:00 pm (JST)

Panel Discussion 2
“Essentiality check in terms of efficiency for licensing”

  • Panelists
    • Eijiro SATO (Hitachi)
    • Minoru FUJIKI (IP Bridge)
    • Norie MATSUYAMA (Lawyer, TMI Associates)
    • Shuichi ENDO (Uldage)
  • Moderator
    • Miyoshi HIRATSUKA (Professor, Tokyo University of Science)

[Last updated 16 August 2022]

Contact

Policy Planning and Research Division

Policy Planning and Coordination Department

Japan Patent Office

TEL: 81-3-3581-1101 (ex. 2154)

E-mail:PA0920@jpo.go.jp